Turista információ - Tourist information



Accommmodation search

Detailed search »

Follow us! Follow us on Twitter! Watch our videos!

World Heritage

 Bookmark and Share  Print article  Send link
The preservation and transmission to a new generation of one’s own culture, history and traditions is an important task for every nation. Recognition of this heritage is necessary for an understanding of the present and planning for the future. Some cultural and natural values have local significance, while others are important for the whole of mankind, because they are unique and special. 
It was to preserve and protect the most outstanding of these values that the UNESCO created the World Heritage Committee and accepted the Agreement regarding the protection of the world’s cultural and natural heritage, to which 175 countries have attached themselves. In 2005, 812 World Heritage sites in the territories of 137 states were added to the list. The original two categories have been joined by a third, that of cultural region. Here can be found treasures where the natural and man-made environments are tightly interdependent and mutually worthy of preservation.

Hungary now has eight listed World Heritage sites:

• The old village and environs of Hollókő (1987)
• The Aggtelek karst and Slovakian karst caves (1995)
• The 1,000 year-old Benedictine Abbey at Pannonhalma and its natural surroundings (1996)
• Hortobágy National Park - the Puszta (1999)
• Pécs Early Christian burial vaults (2000)
• Fertő/Neusiedlersee cultural region (2001)
• The historic wine-making cultural region of Tokaj (2002)
• The Budapest Danube panorama, the Buda Castle District (1987), Andrássy Road and its historic surroundings (2002)
• Carneval Buscho(2009)
The man-made and natural World Heritage sites of Hungary are a good example of what splendours this small nation has provided Europe with, increasing the world’s cultural treasures while preserving their special Hungarian character.

World Heritage